Getting Started

I have no visual art skills. Seriously. I can barely cut a straight line with a paper cutter. The last time I did any sort of art was when I was 14, and it was a terrible drawing done in pastels. And I’ve definitely never been a good painter. When I was 10 I tried my hand at watercolours, but gave up soon after due to my extreme lack of skill. So I knew this would be a bit of a challenge.

I watched the First Episode of Season One “A Walk in the Woods” – in order to see if I thought this would actually be something I might like to do. Bob Ross was so … kind! “You can do it! I believe in you!” My heart melted. I knew I had to give it a shot.

Fortunately, Bob outlined all of the equipment we would be needing for the first 13 weeks (1 season). Unfortunately, I had a terrible time understanding what he was talking about.

2.5″ Natural Bristle Brush

1 ” Natural Bristle Brush

Almighty Palette Knife (Firm)

Colours:

Titanium White

Fallow Green (?)

Prussian Blue

Vandyke Brown

A Lizard in Crimson (That can’t be right. But I have no idea)

Sabe (?!?!) Green

Cad. Yellow

Permanent Red

Mentioned Later:

“Magic White” (…)

Almighty Easel

Canvas

Palette

Odourless Paint Thinner – Not Turpentine

Great. Not TOO many things, but apparently everything I will need to make pretty pictures. I’m sure those colour names are wrong, but I have no idea what they would be. And what the heck is “magic white”?

Fortunately for me, all of my friends are artists. Literally. So, I took my friend who works in art supplies my list. Sure enough, those are not the correct colour names. They should be as follows:

  • Titanium White;
  • Phthalo Green;
  • Prussian Blue;
  • Van Dyke Brown
  • Alizarin Crimson
  • Sap Green
  • Cadmium Yellow
  • Permanent Red

I did have to make a few substitutions – they didn’t have Permanent Red, so I’ve got Permanent Orange instead. Instead of a 2.5″ brush, mine is only a 2″ brush. And the “Magic White” I will have to make myself – as per instructions from artist friend – 50/50 mixture of Titanium White and Walnut Oil.

Total cost: $110

